A #KitchenExperiments Recipe: Peach-Plum-CrispIsh

Per the usual, this is the link to the recipe (thank you, Eating Well) which I read and was inspired and mostly led by.

Except…

I don’t have rhubarb. (I don’t even know what rhubarb looks like). I don’t have ginger, and if I did I probably wouldn’t make the effort to crystallize it. I don’t have pecans. I do have almonds, but I’m not about to waste utilize them on a recipe like this.

What did I have? Two not-yet-ripe non-freestone peaches, and several black plums. I love plums. Kroger has both of those fruits on sale for 99cents this week, and they’re delicious summertime fruits, so take advantage if you can. Also, this recipe was supposed to be for 6. It’s just me, so I mostly cut it in half and it made a decent-sized 3 portions. (Think: dessert tonight, breakfast tomorrow with some yogurt mixed in, and then dessert tomorrow so no need to bake again! Brilliant, right?)

Here’s my version of things:

Peach Plum Crisp-Ish

Ingredients
2 non-freestone peaches, not peeled [because dangerous]. “Sliced” into not-at-all uniform slices/wedges/pieces
1 black plum, not peeled, sliced into somewhat-not-really-uniform slices
2 T brown sugar

1/2 C oats [old fashioned, because it's the only kind I have]
2 T generic flour
1.5 – 2 T brown sugar [lazily measured]
pinch salt
generous sprinkle cinnamon
1/2 T canola oil
1/2 T butter (so, look at the tablespoon mark on the stick of butter and cut down the middle)

Grease a baking dish of some sort [mine was a 1qt] with spray.
Mix the slices of fruit with the 2T brown sugar in the dish.
Mix the next set of ingredients in a bowl. Stir together with a spoon; use the tines of a fork to blend the butter into the mix. Don’t freak out if you can’t really get the butter blended, I never do, and it works out fine.
Generously pour the mix over the fruit and cover the whole thing.

Throw in an oven. I used my black&decker countertop convection oven, and set it at about 380 on the dial. 350 is a good low/slow temp for this, 400+ might burn the top so keep an eye. Cook it until it’s the way you want. (Usually this means the fruit is bubbly/hot/softened but the crisp topping isn’t burnt. If the top starts burning/getting too dark, throw some aluminum foil on that sucker.)

Note: this is a lighter version of a typical crisp. So, your topping won’t become this deliciously buttery thick goo on top of the fruit, because go back up and look at how much butter I use – the chemistry’s not there. However, it will be crispy [my key need] and the fruit will be sweet and warm and lovely. And you just might find you like it better than the usual. Or at the very least, you won’t be left with that “oh, too much butter guilt/acid reflux” feeling we all know and hate so well. Can I get an Amen?

Here’s some I’m-not-a-food-blogger photography of the finished product:

Honestly, the best part of this picture is my dish. Isn't that pattern great? I love all the colors. And the randomness of chickens and flowers on a dish of peaches. [Dish obtained from my Nana, whose dishes after 60 years of use were in better condition than the dishes I've had for a few months.]

Honestly, the best part of this picture is my dish. Isn’t that pattern great? I love all the colors. And the randomness of chickens and flowers on a dish of peaches. [Dish obtained from my Nana, whose dishes after 60 years of use were in better condition than the dishes I've had for a few months.]

No, it doesn't taste like a crisp that has a pound of butter in it. But I promise it's not bad, and might even taste good!

No, it doesn’t taste like a crisp that has a pound of butter in it. But I promise it’s not bad, and might even taste good!

Go forth to the kitchen. Use up those 99cent fruits! Enjoy. :)

3 thoughts on “A #KitchenExperiments Recipe: Peach-Plum-CrispIsh

  1. That does look yummy! And I love that you have Nana’s dishes; I have many kitchen items from my late Pop-Pop’s apartment (and they probably were my late Mom-Mom’s).

    Rhubarb looks like red celery; I have a pretty good rhubarb muffin recipe. You could experiment with rhubarb for a future episode of #kitchenexperiments, y’know.

Leave a Reply

