What I Love About My (Almost!) Husband

When I saw what Jenna at A Mama Collective wrote, I thought “there’s no way I should even try to tackle this”. After all, I’m not even married. Yet.

But on the other hand, I know the man I’m marrying pretty darn well. If I didn’t, you can bet your bottom dollar there wouldn’t be a big shindig happening in just a few weeks. If we do anything consistently in our family, it’s over analyze, so I have plenty of data on the soon-to-be-husband.

we're so incredibly cheesy. d'awwww.

we’re so incredibly cheesy. d’awwww.

He knows what’s important to me, and reminds me of it when I forget (or just want to forget). Like, “Didn’t you say you really wanted to go the gym tonight because you’re stressed? And won’t you be upset later if you don’t go?” to which I dramatically eye-roll, sigh, and admit that he’s right. (Usually, there’s a “thanks for reminding me” text sent by me later on, after the endorphins hit and I’m proud of myself for going to the gym after all. ha.) And if I say “I think I’m going to try to get to Wednesday night confessions and Mass”, he’ll remind me and support me because that’s what we try to do. With all the ups and downs surrounding my teaching job this year, I’ve gotten nothing but support, which is awesome…and a reminder to do a better job at that myself.

When there’s a crazy ending on Monday Night RAW, he texts me a warning so I don’t go to Bleacher Report and end up spoiling it for myself. Then, when I finally watch the show and text him OH MY GOSH YOU WERE RIGHT, he’s okay with having a drawn-out analysis of where the storyline might be going.

When I predicted that Caleb Joseph was going to stay on the Orioles, but #TeamSteve Clevenger would get sent down because his arm and inability to throw out baserunners was going to be a problem… he did say, “I doubt that” but indulged my crazy ideas. Then when that’s exactly what management did he even tweeted about how right I was before the move happened. Did I mention he takes me to baseball games? He does. And even pays for the inevitable food that I require even if it’s the overly-pricy, too-small-serving-size crab waffle fries.

The nephew, myself, and the boyfriend strolling through Oriole Park at Camden Yards.

The nephew, myself, and the boyfriend strolling through Oriole Park at Camden Yards. Throwback picture to October 2012!

He knows that he’s inheriting a huge family (mine) and that we all have issues (including yours truly), and yet hasn’t taken off running or suggested that we live 239489384093 miles away from them all. That takes guts, man.

When I’m panicking and stressed and anxious about All The Things, he’s the calm one who prioritizes and starts taking care of things so that my to-do list shrinks. Do you even know how wonderful that is?

No matter where we go, he’ll hold my hand. :)

The list could go on. When it all boils down to it, I’m marrying this guy in 43 days and some number of hours – if you want the exact countdown, ask him. Marriage is a forever thing, and it’s a decision that an overanalyzer like me certainly wouldn’t take lightly. It’s why I have no issue joining a link-up I don’t belong in…yet, and am pretty confident when I say that the future is a pretty decent looking place. :)

3 thoughts on “What I Love About My (Almost!) Husband

  1. Pingback: #7QT: A laundry list of minor accomplishments Edition | Catholic CoffeeTalk

Leave a Reply

