In Which A Public-Schooled Kid Dares To Speak of Homeschooling!

The following is a series of tweets I posted earlier this morning. Let’s start there, shall we?

Reading articles/info on the rise of homeschooling (esp. secular) in the United States today for a class discussion…

Now, I’ve already said quite a bit in those thankfully-brief statements. Here are a few more I’d like to add, for the course of discussion.

I think it is great that homeschooling is on the rise in the United States and legal in all 50 states.

I think it’s great because parents feel empowered to make a decision for their family, and specifically their child, is regards to how best they can and should be educated. I think it’s great because students are empowered by that decision to learn how to make their own decisions.

I went to public school and don’t regret that choice for a moment. Yes, it was a decision I made after 8th grade, to continue in the rural school system I started my education in. My parents proposed all manner of educational options. That was the best fit for me, for a whole variety of reasons I won’t get into, though you’re welcome to inquire.

I think school choice is crucial, both for students and parents.

I don’t think you’re an amazing parent because you homeschool, and I don’t think you’re an amazing student because you’re homeschooled.
I don’t think you’re an amazing parent because you send your kid to private school, and I don’t think you’re an amazing student because you go to private school.
I don’t think you’re an amazing parent because you send your kid to public school, and I don’t think you’re an amazing student because you go to public school.

Go back and replace every instance of the word “amazing” with the word “awful” in the previous three statements. Go ahead, I’ll wait.

Get it? Good. Maybe now we can get past the silly arguments of “homeschooling is the best thing ever”, “homeschooling breeds socially inept children”, “public schooling breeds socially inept children”, “public schooling is the greatest thing ever”, “private schooling is the only schooling that works for any child”, “private schooling is the worst schooling for any child”, and every other dang thing in between.

Until parents, who are responsible for their children, and children, as they become responsible adults, are able to make an informed choice… I’m staying out of these silly squabbles.

Leave a Reply

