Random Recipes: A Return to Blogging!

I’ve been gone for a while. You want excuses? You can have them. I’ll get to that later [by which I mean, not today]. Today, I’m sharing simple recipes that I actually have memorized and which you may deem useful in your cooking/kitchen/life.

And if you’re wondering why I’m doing this… it’s because I promised Big Brother Out West [he has been referred to as such on this blog before, I believe] that I would post the recipe for my simple white sauce – not an alfredo, not a fat-laden-cream sauce – but just a white sauce. I like it paired with (cooked) whole wheat penne, broccoli, and baby spinach baked in a casserole for about 15 minutes at 350*.

So first off…

Generic White Sauce [might take time to perfect. especially if you’re me]

Melt 2 tablespoons of butter over very low heat in a medium-to-large saucepan.
Add 3 tablespoons of flour, stir together with the melted butter, for about one minute. Add 1.25 cups milk [I’ve used almond, skim, 1% or 2% with success] and add 1 cup chicken broth [I make it using water and a chicken bouillon cube, easiest].
Whisk constantly while raising heat to medium-high [in between medium and high]. You’ll be whisking for a bit. The key is to make sure the flour/butter isn’t stuck on the bottom of your saucepan. If a whisk isn’t working, use a wooden spoon to get the stuff off the bottom and into the sauce.
The sauce will come together. It’ll bubble and thicken. A good thickness [you can judge] is when the sauce coats the back of a wooden spoon [as opposed to running off]. Add generous pinches salt, black pepper, and nutmeg, and whisk in spices.
Remove from heat.
Add anywhere between 1/2 and 1 full cup shredded cheddar cheese. [In my opinion, the sharper the better]. Stir until cheese is melted into the sauce. Done.
Do with the sauce what you will. And apologies if you find my narrative-style directions ill-fitting, but it’s just how I roll. 

Black Bean Brownie Dip [a delicious treat] Description: this is yummy. It tastes a little like chocolate mousse with peanut butter inside. It doesn’t taste like black beans. It does taste great. [And… it’s boyfriend, mom, brother, and sister-in-law approved].

Rinse and drain 1 can black beans.
Place in food processor, with:
2 tablespoons peanut butter
2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 C brown sugar
pinch salt
Process until smooth.
If you find it too thick: add 1 tablespoon milk, process.
If you find it not sweet enough: add more brown sugar, process.

This is my go-to when I need something sweet, something a little chocolatey that isn’t chocolate, something a little peanut buttery, something a little pudding-ish-but-not, etc. Also, it’s easy to make and all pantry ingredients and no baking required! So.

Enjoy the recipes, if they’re your thing, and if not… you’re just gonna have to deal until explain why I dropped off the face of the Catholic/female/cooking blogosphere. Ooh la la!

Here’s a riddle-ish picture as to where I [and my shadow] have been. Take a guess!

Image

2 thoughts on “Random Recipes: A Return to Blogging!

  1. These sound delicious! I really want to try your white sauce recipe. I’ve never found a great recipe for one. Thanks for sharing!

    • Oh, glad it might be of some use! It took me a while to make one that worked…and then I realized I was just bad at the constant stirring. Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

