Day 4 of 7: Adulthood Is… coffee. ALL the coffee.

Look. The word is in the title of my blog. It might be the thing I talk about most when I’m not talking about Catholicism, running, or librarianing. Actually it might be the thing I talk about most. It’s a necessity, and as such, it gets today’s focus. Also… I’m writing this late in the evening because Thursday’s reality consists of getting up early, packing a truck and trailer, and driving my own Honda 300+ miles. And that’s just the start of moving. And since moving isn’t possible without coffee, may I present…

The Ways In Which Coffee Rocks My World

  • I like caffeine in the morning and afternoon. My tummy doesn’t like carbonation. TADA, coffee!
  • The smell of freshly ground beans at 7AM, before thoughts can actually formulate in my brain… oh, lovely.
your author.  coffee, orioles, glasses, cardigan sweater. check.

Panera bread has refills while you’re in the restaurant. I can drink a serious number of refills.

  • If you try to talk to me before 9AM, I’ll be cranky. If I have coffee, I’ll be slightly less cranky.
Because sometimes you'll attend a conference and there will be UNLIMITED coffee available to you. Having your own 24ounce mug means you can build a reputation for imbibing the java AND you'll get a lot more than in a 6ounce china cup.

Because sometimes you’ll attend a conference and there will be UNLIMITED coffee available to you. Having your own 24ounce mug means you can build a reputation for imbibing the java AND you’ll get a lot more than in a 6ounce china cup. Also you won’t lash out at the opening speaker for making you arrive at said conference at 7:30AM because you can contentedly sip to your heart’s desire.

      • There are like a bajillion scientific studies that say coffee might be good for you. That’s much better than a bajillion scientific studies saying it will definitely kill you. I’m on the right track!

Based on familial evidence, there’s no way coffee will kill me.

While roadtripping, a refill of a mug at Sheetz is 89cents. EIGHTY. NINE. CENTS.

It's impossible to eat biscotti, especially peppermint biscotti, with anything other than a hot beverage. And let's face it. Tea and biscotti? *skeptical eyebrow* Go for the good stuff.

It’s impossible to eat biscotti, especially peppermint biscotti, with anything other than a hot beverage. And let’s face it. Tea and biscotti? *skeptical eyebrow* Go for the good stuff.

  • It’s easy to say, “hey wanna grab some coffee?” and then you suddenly have a very convenient excuse to get some Timbits too. And Timbits are always a good thing.
  • Cheap. Date. Especially if you’re treating a friend.
100_8310

Having a cup of free coffee in my hand makes this picture taken in a gorgeous tiled shower in an Amish showroom go from strange to awesome! [Please don’t tell me that’s untrue.]

  • Coffee facilitates conversation. Yes, I’ve had some great chats over a soda. But the thing is… the hot temperature of coffee, plus the fact that one is inclined to sip over a period of time, just lends itself to conversing. Sitting on a cozy couch staring out the window in the morning might lead someone to think, “lazy!”. But sitting on a cozy couch staring out the window in the morning while holding a cup of coffee helps me appreciate the coziness of it all. Hot beverages…what a lovely, lovely thing.
    And also, to test this theory? Talk to a random stranger in a coffee shop. It’s not all that strange. [Caveat: choose the person whom you address wisely].

Am I a little head over heels for coffee? Yes. No shame. I’m a big fan. And I’m incredibly grateful to live in a place where access is readily available and doesn’t break the budget. What’s your reason for loving the java?

2 thoughts on “Day 4 of 7: Adulthood Is… coffee. ALL the coffee.

Leave a Reply

