Day 5 of 7: Adulthood Is… gitting ‘er done. Ecclesiastes style.

Originally I was going to write about being a redneck. [No, really].
So I asked the grand twitter world for suggestions that fit my theme of, “Adulthood Is…” for the 7 in 7 challenge.

My big brother suggested, “”adulthood is, getting up and doing what needs to be done, cause nobody is doing it for you, or probably even helping”. How true that can be at times.

So I shortened and rednecked the title, because I can. And now I’ll tell you what I’ve done with my day [this is a recap of Thursday, albeit you’re reading it on Friday]:
-slept very little due to a crazy allergy attack at 4:30am
-drove the truck to pick up a UHaul trailer with my dad
-packed the bed of the truck full of stuff [read: heavy furniture/washer/dryer]
-packed the trailer full of stuff [read: a bed, a futon, a wardrobe, approximately 7 million boxes and bags]
-drove 300ish miles to a place where I can rest my head for the night, before embarking on an additional 215ish miles tomorrow morning to arrive at my new apartment and get crackin’ on the moving in business.

The reality is, we spend a lot of our time in life working. Might be working at a job; might be working on goals we have; might just be doing the nitty gritty labor that needs doing. We don’t always have help. Thankfully for this undertaking, I had the help of a father, a mother, a sister-in-law, a brother, and a boyfriend. Very grateful.

But there will be times where you just have to get ish done until it’s done. And you may not get any credit. You may not even feel satisfied with the work you’ve put in, if you weren’t overly invested in the process. But that’s adulthood. Realizing every once in a while you’ve just gotta suck it up, git ‘er done, and plan on reaping the rewards of your work at some other time.

And you know what? Ecclesiastes 3, verses 9-13, seem pretty fitting here. [Note: RSV]

What gain has the worker from his toil? I have seen the business that God has given to the sons of men to be busy with. He has made everything beautiful in its time; also he has put eternity into man’s mind, yet so that he cannot find out what God has done from the beginning to the end. I know that there is nothing better for them than to be happy and enjoy themselves as long as they live; also that it is God’s gift to man that every one should eat and drink and take pleasure in all his toil.

AHA. We’re not only supposed to get done the work which has been given us – we’re to take pleasure in it – and we’re to remember that we don’t know what plan God has set before us, but it’s a good thing. And our work is a gift. A gift. Hooo boy.
And what’s that other part – we’re to be happy and enjoy ourselves as long as we shall live – and it is God’s gift that we should eat and drink and take pleasure in our work. As I reflect on today, and the amount of work therein – and as I feel the slight muscle aches that remind me of that work – I’m going to focus on the eat and drink part. This orange shandy is delicious and I’m enjoying partaking of it. Who knew the day set before me would be a living experience of Ecclesiastes 3?

Git ‘er done, folks. Even if you don’t see the purpose right now. And attempt to enjoy yourself while doing it, or afterwards if need be. Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Day 5 of 7: Adulthood Is… gitting ‘er done. Ecclesiastes style.

  1. That is so true! This is a fun theme. Looking forward to following you through the rest of the seven days. We’re most of the way there.

Leave a Reply

