Week In My Life: Thursday

It got cold today. Just so happens my office is one of the best-heated in the building. (Just so happens I share my office with all the computer servers and equipment.) it’s getting hot in heeeere.

Morning:
the above statement about it being hot? yeah. it got worse. so my “I’ll layer this plaid long sleeve button-down over this grey t-shirt in case it gets too hot” plan went to crap when I realized said grey t-shirt shows sweat really obviously moreso than any other shirt I likely own so I had to stick with the layers. FAIL.

-the “hey kids, our classroom has relocated due to the book fair” speeches to each class went over alright. Fun fact: a lot of kids don’t understand the concept of book fair, especially when it’s tied into (or located in) the library. “Can I buy a book from the book fair and bring it back like my library book?” “Well, no…if you bought it, you own it.” “But can I buy it for free like at the library?” Well then.

Mid-Day: 
-Honestly, it was a blur. That’s how Thursdays usually go. The implementation of new seating charts went over as well as assigned seating can. A particular curricular struggle: our third grade team is doing a grade-wide Theme Project (capitals needed) about A Community Helper. They are requiring each kid to use a ‘printed source’ (i.e., book) to find information. So I have…about 100 3rd grade students. They’re choosing from a list of about 12 community helpers. Teachers said, “try to get a media book to use for your project”. I don’t have 12 different books about veterinarians – that would be a waste of my resources/budget. So I’ve spent this week saying things like, “well, sharing books is a great idea!” and “this book is about [insert career/community helper job here] and that’s pretty similar to Your Chosen Community Helper so you should find enough information to help you with your project.” Slight FAIL, but I’m limited in what I can do.

Evening:
-Tonight’s dinner, which I planned….in the car on the way home. Popcorn shrimp, shoestring fries, and roasted broccoli. Husband used ketchup, I used cocktail sauce. We are scintillating folks.

-Still reading Giffin’s “The One and Only”. I’m still reading it, but the more I read, the less I want to finish it. So far the lead character is involved with two men – one she’s dating, one is the father of her best friend who she is apparently secretly-in-denial-but-not-anymore in love with. Even if I did find that realistic – and I don’t – it’s not that uplifting or even exciting. It’s just….weird. I’m looking at the cover of the book right now wondering if I should even reopen it. Baldacci is staring at me from across the room. No, really, I can see it from here. *creepy*

-Snack time whilst I indulge in the drama that is Grey’s Anatomy. Sometimes I watch it, sometimes I fall asleep. We’ll see what happens this Thursday evening…fun times over here at the G homestead. zzzzzzzz……..

Thank you Instagram for the great filter that brings out the brown tones in my diet A&W and the last small nugget of chocolate-peanut butter fudge.

Thank you Instagram for the great filter that brings out the brown tones in my diet A&W and the last small nugget of chocolate-peanut butter fudge.

4 thoughts on “Week In My Life: Thursday

  1. From this entire week of posting which I have enjoyed I came away with two things! 1) you like coffee 2) you watch a lot of TV! It’s fun to have an insight into someone else’s life!

Leave a Reply

