Why Blog?

Why do you read blogs? If you’re like me, it goes something like this:

  • staying up-to-date with the lives of friends who happen to blog
  • amusement at the antics of families which are not mine
  • spiritual enrichment of some sort

That’s about it, for me, at least. This weekend I had the wonderful pleasure of spending time with several women from the greater local area at what was called CWBN:MidAt. (Translation: Catholic Women Blogger’s Network: Mid-Atlantic). I’ll be real with you: I didn’t feel qualified to be there (and I’m not a fan of crowds). I used to blog repeatedly, now it’s more sporadic – like something to do when there’s absolutely nothing left on the to-do list, I’ve run out of library books, there are zero recordings on the DVR, and Husband doesn’t feel like doing something fun together. In other words, I very rarely blog. When I do, it goes a little like “here’s what’s happened since the last time my to-do list was empty enough to speak to you, readers!” That’s a little harsh. After all, if you bother to read, you must care on some level. In return, I should probably care on some level if what you’re reading is worth your time. After all, your reasons for reading blogs may not be the same as mine, but you have reasons.

Conversely, you have reasons why you don’t read particular blogs. I certainly do. Part of my blog-reading strategy is to read about the lives of people who seem real. What does that mean? Well…I’m not sure I can articulate it. Sometimes real is messy, it’s brutally honest, it admits the awkward happenings amidst the happy, fun ones. Real says “here’s me. Do with it what you will.” I’m sure some will point the Millenial in me, but what’s the point of a public online presence if I’m going to caveat it all with “what you see may not be what you get”? If you want edited life…go to Facebook. I promise you nearly no one is one-hundred-percent real on Facebook – the social network where you’re supposed to be among friends. Curious, isn’t it?

The interesting part of a blogging conference is realizing how very, very different you all are from each other. (Other than the whole Catholic women thing!) Yesterday, I realized it’s quite okay to want to be real. That doesn’t mean everyone has to be – and more power to those of you who have the energy and will to curate a specific presence. I’m just not that committed. 😉 What I walked away with, in my mind and possibly on my heart, is that for me, writing is an outlet. The outlet is…for me. I enjoy spilling my guts and throwing it on the internet, knowing it may go nowhere or somewhere. I enjoy informing seemingly random strangers with details of my existence – and occasionally, seeing those random strangers become friends. I’ve been journaling – before it was even blogging – online, in some format, since 2004. Eleven years. Not once has it been focused on the audience, it’s always been about… me. Just being me. Online. Not password protected.

So there you have it. I’m back, probably. I make zero promises to be consistent, zero promises to have highly engaging, pinnable content, and zero promises to write with a particular audience in mind. If you’re here – welcome! I’m glad you are, and I hope you find something of value. Tell me who you are. Tell me what you want out of life. Tell me how we can build a community together. That’s why I’m here, and that’s why I always make enough coffee to share. You are loved!

12 thoughts on “Why Blog?

  1. I think one of the things I loved most about yesterday was the mix of people. We all seem to blog for different reasons…with different expectations. I often realize in these discussions that I’m really not blogging to gain readers. I like to connect with people, but I’m not trying to build a huge following. And I just can’t do anything with Pinterest. I’m happy that you’re back! For me too blogging is an outlet. It’s a way for me to process what’s happening and to share and to connect with others. I am looking forward to reading when you post!

  2. Woohoo! Glad to see you blogging again. 🙂 I’m in the process of resurrecting mine too…it’s going in fits and starts, but it’s going . #solidarity

  3. I agree with Rita! I feel like, yes, obviously, I want people to read what I write. But gaining readers for the sake of gaining readers just isn’t a goal I’m interested in. Personally, I want to promote good ‘conversation’ on difficult subjects. So if I get a few honest, even challenging questions in the combox? I’m thrilled! Glad to see you ‘back’. I love your writing.

  4. I’ve been blogging since 2000 and it’s also always been me, though passworded on occasion because Jon’s ministry has been derailed by the blog at least once.

  5. I love this. I have been blogging since I was in 8th grade (Ohh Xanga) and reading through my archives I was way more real back then. I think I’m worried because I know some of my family reads my blog and I don’t want them to know that I’m struggling with certain things. Happy to see you back (even if sporadic 😉 )

  6. My boyfriend and I just started this blog together two weeks ago. Prior to this I blogged (inconsistently) and am hoping 1+1=3! I think it’s great to write for yourself as that’s where the best content comes from. Keep it up and yes, let’s dialogue !!
    – Emily

  7. I was at the conference on Saturday, although I don’t think we met. I think your right, “To thine own self be true” and if that happens to be what other people like, great. I do understand the need for SEO and all that jazz, but I guess ultimately I just want to write what I want to write …. cause I’m not writing that much anyway!

  8. Marie Bernadette I enjoyed meeting you! I agree with you on different reasons or blogging and “to thine own self be true” If I ever start a personal blog I will be right there with you! In the mean time I really feel responsible/called to promote the anonymous authors on http://www.conversationwithwomen.org
    I hope that you enjoyed the fudge!

Leave a Reply

