When Things Change (a.k.a., When Your Husband Is The Best)

In case you’ve somehow missed the memo: I am now the home to babyG, who will be with me for quite a while until s/he’s ready to be with all of us. Happy Thanksgiving!

We love babyG. The amount of time that passed between me knowing I was pregnant and Husband knowing I was pregnant was about 30 seconds, the time it took me to travel between rooms. Then I ceremoniously, with great fanfare and forethought, said “So… I’m pregnant”. We’ve had a lot of time to digest that happy news in the meantime but things are still a flutter – by which I mean, in slight chaos, or at least different from the norm.

I like cooking. Or…I did. Now it’s kind of a love/hate relationship. I like the science of cooking but I’m not a fan of all the foods I used to be, and some of the smells that come out of foods…it just ain’t working. I loved oatmeal. Now I’m lucky if I can handle a frozen waffle for breakfast, on the days that breakfast is something I’m allowed. Yesterday we discovered that occasionally morning sickness knows no bounds of time. Wheeeee!

But this isn’t about that. This is about the absolutely wonderful security and joy in having a husband, a partner, a roommate-for-life, who is taking it all in stride. The days I can’t make dinner? “It’s okay babe, I can fend for myself”. I promise to make zero judgments on the quality of such fending. We’ve discovered I can give cooking instructions from the futon. We’ve discovered that some days, Special K is literally the thing I can eat for dinner and it’s okay that Husband doesn’t feel like joining me in my rice-cereal-addiction. We’ve discovered that the pattern of “wife comes home, wife whips up a meal consisting of meat/vegetable/starch” is a little…off…right now, on some days. And that ice cream is really, really nice.

Outside of the food world, there is a whole host of other topics that we’re discussing – dealing with – pondering – because life is changing. That’s okay – we fully expected life to change when we got married, after all, it’s a pretty big deal. I used to think Big Life Changes (capitals required) were Really Scary Things and All Sorts Of Overwhelming. But you know what? I was wrong, at least in some respects.

I wouldn’t have married Husband if I didn’t know how great he was – trust me, I married him because I knew it was the exact right choice by all measures, and one I’m very glad I made, while being very glad that he agreed in regards to my greatness. 😉 But life throws these changes at us, and sometimes we have no idea how to react, or how we will react. Heck, didn’t know how to react, and somedays, I still don’t know how to react. (Note: I didn’t cry when I first discovered the double pink line. I’ve cried a lot since). Yes, married life can be a little overwhelming, and there is so much we don’t know about the future and what it all entails. But goshdarnit, something I do know, is that I married a really, really, good man and every day I thank God that He helped us put it all together.

Walking away from a fantastic party with the love of my life.

Walking away from a splendidly fantastic party with the love of my life. I’m grateful he’s the one who holds my hand.

11 thoughts on “When Things Change (a.k.a., When Your Husband Is The Best)

  1. Congratulations to familyG! Wishing you good health and a speedy return to appetite. Though Special K is a good choice. Try watermelon for nausea…always worked for me. I have no idea why. But it’s easy to get now, anyway. My prayers are with you!

      • I don’t know why it works, but it does. I lived on watermelon for a while! Of course, you are probably getting ALL THE TIPS for anti-nausea. Hope you’re feeling well soon and enjoy this wonderful season of your life!

  2. How did I miss the memo? SOOOO exciting! Congratulations! And I imagine a little nerve-wracking and worrying, but that is normal and part of the whole deal. I mean, not that we’ve ever been pregnant, but we walked around in a daze when we were matched with our children–and we had been waiting to be matched! We signed on and committed and everything. YAY. Keeping you and baby and daddy in my prayers and thinking ice cream sounds like a perfectly reasonable dinner, with or without Special K.

    • I don’t know, but quite a few folks missed the memo, so now it’s posted everywhere. 🙂 I get the whole “we’re expecting this to happen eventually, why are we walking around in a daze” thing – that was definitely the feeling I experienced after that test instantly turned positive. It seems silly – “wait, I knew this was a total possibility, why am I amazed!?” – but then I think… well, God likes to amaze us so I guess I’ll let Him. 🙂

  3. Ginger is supposed to be the thing that helps nausea. That and peppermint. I also found that I did better if something was in my stomach which is why I lived with saltines in my drawer at work.

    My morning sickness at first was usually between 2-5 p.m. and whenever staff meetings were called. My boss finally just emailed me the notes from the meetings so she didn’t have to watch me turn green and make a beeline for the nearest bathroom.

    • I’ve heard ginger – have yet to find any candies, but I do have a big stock of ginger ale in the house. Peppermint makes me sneeze so I don’t know if that’s a good idea or not… Thanks for the helpful hints! 🙂

  4. I love this post and you’re right, change isn’t so scary after all, especially when you have a new partner in life to guide you through 🙂

  5. My cousin got so sick during pregnancy with her first she basically lived off plain ramen noodles for the first trimester. No fun! I hope you feel better soon.

    And congrats again. 🙂

  6. So very happy for you both; thank you for sharing your joy. Prayers, of course! (And my Guiding Aunt says to sleep as much as possible because soon you’ll not get enough. Crackers and rice Chex were her dependables.) The knitting of tiny garments begins…

Leave a Reply

