7 Quick Takes: Hello, September!

Wowza. September.

  1. Newsflash: just because the month changes, doesn’t mean the weather does. We’ve had multiple 90+ degree days in a row. They’re not my favorite, personally, seeing as how 15 minutes outside turns one from a human being into a creature from the swamp. Swampish and sneezing should be the temporary name of my blog in the fall, seeing as how that’s how I roll. (See also: pollen counts).
  2. So yesterday I threw some thoughts together on this old blog about pregnancy and bodies and confidence. It’s mostly a verbal safari but I’d be intrigued to hear your thoughts so feel free to read it and let me know. Doesn’t matter if you’ve experienced this particular phenomenon, I think there’s something there for everyone. Perhaps contentedness?

  3. We were at Camden Yards this week on the day that commemorated 20 years since 2131. They rehung the banners on the Warehouse wall, which was pretty cool. We got trounced, which was not. Cal threw out the first pitch and then hung out in the tv booth for a while…and when they showed him sometime around the 5th inning, he got a standing ovation just for being there which is more applause than the team got all night. You could say it was a rough game.
  4. We spent last weekend back in Ohio, so that I could be on hand to help celebrate my best friend’s bridal shower. It turned out to be a lovely event. Mom and I did some of the cooking and baking, with Mom making Reuben sandwiches and mini carrot cakes, while I made cookies. Mint-chocolate chip cookies (delish), citrus and fig cookies (delish), and chocolate-and-whatever-I-threw-in-them cookies (decent, but not as good as the others). The bridal party wore black dresses and pearls and surrounded our bride in white and it was a beautiful event. Fancy, and totally not my style, but a beautiful event for my best gal. 🙂

    In accordance with my own love of Fiestaware, that was my gift. You can never have too much Fiestaware. Speaking of which, we’re cleaning and purging the house this weekend and some of the non-Fiestaware dishes are going to say farewell to our kitchen cabinets. There ain’t no room at the inn.

  5. Separately, allow me here to espouse my love of bonfires. I’ve probably said it before. I’ll say it again. The Ohio tradition of pulling up chairs around a raging inferno and talking for hours is one of my favorites. It’s also one of my favorite parts of camping. Not to mention, the bride’s mom made cheesy potatoes and I ate…more than one serving. So good. Just…so good. But the relaxing nature of “sit here, look at the orange glow, and don’t do anything taxing” was exactly what we all needed after running ourselves somewhat ragged setting up a shower, conducting a shower, and cleaning up from a shower. Best friend’s mom and stepdad have a fabulous, Ohio-esque backyard for bonfires facing a giant field and the weather turned just cool enough to enjoy being outside. I’m not sure anyone I know has enough scratch for a yard big enough to host a bonfire here in Maryland. Not yet, anyway.
  6. I took one whole picture the entire weekend we were visiting…and it was in the car on the way home. D’oh. But that means this goes out as a big thank you to my mom, who sent us home with such impressive car snacks that we stopped once for gas and a bathroom break but didn’t need to buy any food on the road.

    Part of Mom's snack assortment: wheat thins, an entire block of extra sharp cheese, and a sharp knife to cut it with. We also had grapes, cookies, and leftover mini carrot cakes. It was a picnic in the car.

    Part of Mom’s snack assortment: wheat thins, an entire block of extra sharp cheese, and a sharp knife to cut it with. We also had grapes, cookies, and leftover mini carrot cakes. It was a picnic in the car.

  7. Unrelatedly, there are a whole bunch of state fairs happening right now, including ours. I wonder if I can convince Husband to visit it with me? I’ve only been to one State fair and it was the New York State Fair. I won free tickets in a twitter contest (take that, twitter haters) and my sister drove over from her part of Upstate to go with me. We had a ridiculous amount of fun, walked miles, took pictures with llamas, and ate approximately everything we saw. So this throwback picture is an ode to the beauty of the State Fair. If there’s a Rodgers and Hammerstein song now in your head, blame me… do you go to the State Fair? Do you go to county fairs? I’m a redneck but not much of a fair person. I just like to … well, look at the picture, kids. I like food. I still remember how good that maple ice cream was, three years later.
A photo in which I am bright-eyed with excitement by the existence of a maple-syrup lollipop (on the left, in the shape of a maple leaf) and maple-syrup-infused soft serve ice cream (on the right, with two spoons, for sharing purposes.)

A photo in which I am bright-eyed with excitement by the existence of a maple-syrup lollipop (on the left, in the shape of a maple leaf) and maple-syrup-infused soft serve ice cream (on the right, with two spoons, for sharing purposes.)

The Seven Quick Takes link-up is with Christy at Fountains of Home today so head on over for more to read!

7 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes: Hello, September!

  1. I hear the Ohio State Fair is completely awesome – you MUST go! And I agree that the reader makes or breaks an audiobook. It can be a beautifully written book, but if I hear it read with a nasal voice I probably won’t even listen to the whole thing – sad but true!

  2. Read this whole wonderful post and somehow am only thinking about food now. Why is that? If you get to the fair, maybe you could do a review of the deep-fried Berger cookies? I’ve been trying to get there and failing all week.

  3. I’ve never been to the state fair anywhere I’ve lived (including Ohio) but I’ve been to some of the county fairs and even have entered things in them once or twice. My 4th grade class won 2nd place with an embroidered California history quilt and I won two prizes (1st place and 1st runner-up) for two things that I entered in a fair in Montana.

Leave a Reply

